Texas laws prohibit drivers of any age from operating their vehicles after consuming drugs or alcohol, including any situation where their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over .08%. Failing to adhere to these laws can result in a DWI charge and significant penalties.
Here are the potential consequences for someone receiving a first-time DWI in Texas.
First-time DWI offenders with a BAC between .08% and .15% face a minimum of three days and a maximum of six months in jail. A BAC of more than .15% can mean up to one year of jail time, which will remain on a record forever.
A first DWI conviction may result in a fine of up to $2,000. Additionally, the state imposes a mandatory traffic fine upon conviction. First-time offenders with a BAC between .08% and .15% will receive a traffic fine of $3,000. Those caught driving drunk with a BAC higher than .15% will receive a $6,000 traffic fine.
All people who drive under the influence in Texas receive a license suspension. The length of time ranges from 90 days to one year for a first DWI. Most people can apply for a restricted occupational license to drive to and from work or school during this time.
Penalties for BAC test refusal
Texas’s laws state that drivers arrested on DWI charges must agree to BAC tests, and first-time offenders refusing this test have their license suspended for 180 days.
Texas law allows for strict punishment of drivers who operate a vehicle under the influence of alcohol, including first-time offenders. As a result, a strong case is necessary to avoid the worst of these penalties.